World News

Tamil Nadu defeats Bengal by 146 runs in Vijay Hazare Trophy event

On Saturday, Tamil Nadu extended their winning streak by defeating Bengal by 146 runs in an Elite Group B match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy event. Tamil Nadu batted first and scored 295 for 8 in 50 overs, thanks to half-centuries from B Indrajith (64), Dinesh Karthik (87), and J Kousik (50), before bowling the opponents out for 149 in 39.1 overs for their third straight win. The Tamil Nadu bats went into overdrive in the 18th over, going from 22 for 2 to 55 for 3 with the seasoned Karthik leading the charge, first with Indrajith and then with Kousik.

For the fourth wicket, Indrajith and Karthik put on a 105-run stand before the seasoned stumper-batter added 74 runs for the fifth wicket.

The Tamil Nadu batsmen, particularly Kousik and M Shahrukh Khan, went on a rampage in the last 13 overs, scoring 135 runs (32 off 12).

Bengal was never in contention and kept losing wickets at regular intervals, with medium-pacer R Silambarasan taking four wickets, including opener Shreevats Goswami (1).

Meanwhile, Karnataka defeated Mumbai by seven wickets, with R Samarth’s undefeated 96.

Surya Kumar Yadav, Mumbai’s star batter, failed to make an impression, falling for 8 to Pravin Dubey (4/29).

Bengal trounced Pondicherry by five wickets in another match, making light work of chasing a target of 83.

Scores in brief:

Bengal 149 all out in 39.1 overs (Abhisek Das 30, R Silambarasan 4/28) were defeated by Tamil Nadu 295 for 8 in 50 overs (Dinesh Karthik 87, B Indrajith 64) by 146 runs.

Karnataka 211 for 3 in 45.3 overs (R Samarth 96 not out, Rohan Kadam 44, Karun Nair 39 not out) defeated Mumbai 208 for 9 in 50 overs (Yashasvi Jaiswal 61, Armaan Jaffer 43, Hardik Tamore 46, Pravin Dubey 4/29) by seven wickets.

Pondicherry (Iqlas Naha 37, Dhruv Patel 3/4, L Meriwala 3/24) were defeated by Baroda (Sagar P Udeshi 3/14) by five wickets in 27.1 overs (Iqlas Naha 37, Dhruv Patel 3/4, L Meriwala 3/24).

Brief on Vijay Hazare Trophy’s History

The Vijay Hazare Trophy, also known as the Ranji One-Day Trophy, was established in 2002-03 as a limited-overs cricket domestic competition including state teams from the Ranji Trophy circuit. It is formally named as Paytm Vijay Hazare Trophy for sponsorship reasons. It is named after Vijay Hazare, a renowned Indian cricketer.

Tamil Nadu is the most successful team in the tournament, having won it five times. Mumbai is the current winner (2020-2021), having defeated Uttar Pradesh in the finals for the fourth time. After the 2020–21 Ranji Trophy was cancelled owing to the COVID-19 outbreak, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) stated in January 2021 that the event would take place.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button